That most ancient of comforts…

May 27, 2007

night parkThis evening I was reminded of one of the pleasures I used to enjoy on a frequent basis.  As primal and as deep a part of our nature as the comfort felt when sheltered from the thunderstorm.  Perhaps as symbolically potent as snow falling in the pines.

It’s been a long time since I was able to indulge myself, and I wondered if perhaps this activity has become the joy of a bygone era – surely I’m not the only one who has been experiencing less and less of that most ancient of comforts…

Driving around the streets of a city on a cool summers night with the windows down and the radio turned up…

Gas prices are now between 3.12 and 3.54 depending on which part of the state you’re in.  3.27 here.  I just can’t afford to feel good any more.

-greg

One Response to “That most ancient of comforts…”

  1. kella Says:

    Ah, yes. A few weeks ago I ran across one of the CDs you’d made for me back in the day and the same memory, of music and windows (and occasionally speeding) came back so forcefully I lost track of time listening to the entire CD without doing one productive thing.

    It was lovely. Thanks for the most delightful hour.


Leave a Reply

