Endings, Beginnings, Middles

April 26, 2007

Today was the last class of my “methods of teaching seminary” class.  I found myself facing some angst (read: nervousness / fear) when I came face to face with the fact that some of my hopes and dreams are no longer in the future – that, indeed, the turning point for what I consider some important decisions has come and – today – passed.  As time goes on, more and more opportunities arrive and then pass by.  I can’t help but wonder if I’m making the right choices.
I won’t know about the chance to teach next year until some time next month.  All I can do now is try to be the right person for the job.  It’s not something I can plan on doing.  Last year’s group – about 70 here in southern Utah – had only one person hired.

I’ve been working at Northwestern Mutual for a while.  It’s a good feeling.  My boss definately has his priorities in order, which makes me happy.  I like working for a boss who cares more about his client’s needs than his own earnings.  It makes a nice change.  I still face the stigma of the financial service representative, though.  I still meet people (some who know me very well personally) who assume I just want to take the money from people and put it in my own pockets.  It’s a lot like when I was on my mission.  How do you tell somebody that you really just want to help people – that you want the very best for them – and make them believe it?  I guess there’s too much mistrust in the world.  And too much reason for mistrust.

The semester is over.  I officially have just one year of college left… unless I go into the MBA program.  I didn’t do very well at this semester’s classes.  Maybe I was more focused on family and work?  I don’t know why, really.  The truth is that most of my classes were more difficult than any I’ve taken in the past.

And, of course, the biggest change to happen of late is the birth of my son.  I’m very excited to get to know his personality as he grows.  I hope that we will be good parents.  I also hope I can provide for our needs.  That’s my biggest worry lately.  Helping people plan for retirement and getting insurance doesn’t pay me a lot of money,  just dividends in feeling good about helping people.

Friends are moving away, going on with life.  Someday I may try it out myself.

Till then, I remain your friend in geekland.

-greg

Leave a Reply

