Thus in weekend

September 30, 2006

It’s now officially 11 pm, and I’m feeling wired.   I don’t know why.  We went to a mission reunion yesterday, then drove back home today during the second session of General Conference.  (We listened on the AM)  Usually driving drains me, especially when it’s back to back like that and I sleep in a strange bed.  But somehow I’m feeling kinda pumped up.

I went and bought milk and 1o dollars worth of candy.  I’m thinking I have some issues with excess.

Budget budget budget.

Last night we got finished at the mission reunion and brought a DVD player to Kayeleen’s grandparent’s home.  Kayeleen went upstairs with her sister and had bonding while I got to wait downstairs with the grandparents.  I think it’s interesting to see all the little manerisms that are similar between Kayeleen’s mom and grandparents.  And it was nice to get to know them better.  I was a little put-off, however when it went from a nice chat about mission reunions to a give – advice – to – me session.  But I know that they meant well.  It’s just nicer to converse rather than be told what is and isn’t and what should and what shouldn’t.

I mention it not as a criticism, but as a notice to myself.  When I get older and want to give good natured advice to other people I need to remember to always want to be a learner rather than a teacher.  I think that kind of attitude will serve me better than any desire to help by teaching.

We got to see Julia today.  She’s doing good.  She’s stressed because she’s already got a gallery showing scheduled for february…. but no art to put in the gallery.  She figures if she can do one piece a week she’ll be okay, but it’s been 2 weeks and she’s only just started one.

uh.. cute.

Conference was great.  I didn’t really get a lot from the words that were said, but the spirit that these speakers bring is a great help.  Then, when I have questions (which I do a lot of the time) the Spirit is what answers my prayers, rather than the words of a speaker.

I saw a macintosh laptop at the surplus sale and I may have been a bit hasty.  I bought it for 25 dollars.  The only reasons are that I’ve been wanting to try out a mac, and I’ve been wanting to have a laptop.  I was hoping I could re-sell it if I didn’t like it, but I would be lucky to get back my 25 bucks for this thing.  (it’s too old and it didn’t have a power cable.)  But, hey, maybe I’ll find I love how it….. word… processes…

Who am I kidding.   I’m just going to toss it into a closet.

I wonder if Julia can do anything as an art project with my 3 outdated laptops.  I’ll have to ask her.

Something modern and meaningful.

All my love and respect,
-greg

Leave a Reply

