More

September 24, 2006

One thing I didn’t mention in my last post was that I also experience some amount of stress as I deal with choices that have to be made and things I may have to face in the future.  Most of this is finance related.  I stress about finance pretty much more than anything.  It’s too bad.

I’m trying to decide how much I want to try to hang on to my applebees job.  It’s a hard decision to make.  I would like to get rid of it all together, but it’s difficult to find one as well-paying.  Especially in this town.   When Kayeleen is working I don’t need to work much – and what I do earn can go into our emergency fund or our savings for a new car or saving for uknown needs.    But, obviously, she’s not going to be able to work forever.  In fact, I would give her a bit less than 6 months at the best – and that’s barring any health problems.   (It could be that pregnancy takes her out like crazy near the end.)   So, if she can’t work I need to have a good job available.  But if it’s applebees, that means a bad environment and working sundays and holidays.

I had assumed that I would end up working at applebees next summer anyway, since summer tips are great, but now I’m starting to wonder if they’ll even let me come back if I don’t “play by their rules.”  (by which I mean working the schedule the want me to rather than just pick up shifts here and there and also working sundays)

I find myself browsing the help wanted section.  It’s not like I even have time for a job right now, with school and everything…  But I worry.  I feel like I need to get ready for some unknown future.

anyway, that’s the stress side of the current situation.

-Greg

Leave a Reply

