Career Stresses

September 5, 2006

Today I looked over the possibility of being a consultant as a career choice.  I had been feeling good about it as an option during the past couple of weeks.  Now I’m not so sure.  My main concern is that the job description according to most includes over 60 hour work weeks, mainly during the evenings at the office.

It’s another one of those things that I find myself saying “If there were nobody and nothing else in my life it would be okay.”  But the fact is that there are people and things more important to me than this job and the lots and lots of money that would come with it.

I’ll keep looking, but in the mean time I’m a bit stressed.  And I wonder where I’ll end up.

-Greg

3 Responses to “Career Stresses”

  1. Greg Says:

    It’s the stresses in life that define us and help us grow. If God just gave us all the answers and prepared the way we would never become our true and best selves.
    -Greg again.

  2. valancy's friend rachel Says:

    I’m a consultant (biz development, change management and training). My job is about 95% travel (weekends home only) and sends me out to different companies in different cities, and I’m lucky I don’t have a lawn to mow, a fish to feed, a husband or a small child to care for…

    It’s definitely a trial by fire and you sacrifice your personal and home life for your job if you start as an associate or jr consultant. Consulting might be a better option after you’ve been a businessman for many years so you can work for yourself and have more control over your clients and career.

    Just my two cents.

  3. valancy's friend rachel Says:

    I’m a consultant (biz development, change management and training). My job is about 95% travel (weekends home only) and sends me out to different companies in different cities, and I’m lucky I don’t have a lawn to mow, a fish to feed, a husband or a small child to care for… still, the perks (frequent flier miles, hotel points, see new places and people, ability to travel on the company’s dime, etc) are pretty nice if that’s what you like.

    It’s definitely a trial by fire and you sacrifice your personal and home life for your job if you start as an associate or jr consultant. Consulting might be a better option after you’ve been a businessman for many years so you can work for yourself and have more control over your clients and career.

    Just my two cents.


Leave a Reply

