Adoring

June 30, 2006

blossomI knew a girl once who I really wanted to date.  I thought she was great, but I didn’t really love her very much.  Just a great person who I thought was attractive and who I wanted to date.

She found somebody who adores her.  I remember when they were dating she would tell me about all the wonderful things he would do for her.  When she asked if I thought she should marry him, I thought (and may have said so) that I could never treat her the way he does – and that to find somebody who adores you so much is a tremendous blessing that shouldn’t be turned away from.

I wonder if that makes sense in a linguistic way.

And I was amazed.  Because I realized I didn’t really love her.  My actions or lack of actions really proved it.  Sure, I wanted to date her, but when I was compared with this guy who had obviously fallen head-over-heels for her… wow.  I got nothing.

I wondered if I would ever care for somebody that much.

But now I do.  And I want her to be happy every day.  Every time something nice happens to me, I try to figure out how to make it nice for her too.  If I get a gift to ‘us.’ I give it to her.  I would do anything just to give her joy.

I didn’t know I was capable of these feelings.

And I feel good about how much I adore her.  And how she feels about me. 

-Greg

No Responses Yet to “Adoring”

  1. steph Says:

    I’m glad you’re happy :) Very very happy for all the good things that are happening to you that you very much deserve.
    And I hope someday you’ll decide I’m ok to talk to again.
    Steph


Leave a Reply

